The Wonders of Antique Sewing Patterns

Following the wedding show booth that we designed with help from Amanda of Joy Ever After, I’ve been meaning to follow up with some details about the paper flowers used for the centerpiece!







Seen in many forms, this project is modeled after the famous Martha Stewart Tissue Pom-Pom DIY. Here are a few more beautiful ideas for your antique sewing patterns, which would work famously for any vintage-inspired event.



Photo credit from top right to left: Paper Carnations, Rolled Roses Bouquet, Twinkle Lights DIY, Floral Broach DIY, Button Pin Supplies.

12 Comments

Filed under DIY Projects, Wedding Ideas

12 responses to “The Wonders of Antique Sewing Patterns

  1. jackie

    I cried when I saw the flowers. How could you? Unless the pattern is torn or in some other way unusable I would not make anything out of them. I would love to find antique patterns to use for making my own clothing. I am looking for a antique wedding dress pattern to make to celebrate my 40th wedding anniversary. I learned this trick from a friend when I was growing up. Take a dress pattern made for a special occasion and make it out of everyday material. Then you have a beautiful everyday dress.

    • Denise

      I agree….my ancient patterns are still in use.

    • Mary Ann

      I could never do this to a pattern!! I make costumes for theater, the antique ones are the most special because they are to the time period, especially the 30’s, 40’s & 50’s!

      Such a waste! So sad :(

      • I feel the need to clarify a bit. Perhaps the word “antique” is being used too loosely. The patterns in these images were purchased at a thrift shop for 15 cents each, not in an antique store where you’ll find older and rarer treasures. When finding patterns for this project, use your discretion. Just like old books (which by the way, have also made their way into wedding decor) some are old and hard to find and shouldn’t be used for crafts. But others, even with their weathered pages, make perfectly acceptable craft materials.

  2. I LOVE THIS!!!! SOOOOOOOOO pretty and feminine and posh! And the flowers are my favorite part! Not to be a murderer of sewing or anything!

  3. Kathy Thompson

    I love these flowers!!!

  4. These are great especially for those patterns that are used (well used) and are missing pieces….

  5. OMG! I love these ideas so very much! I must…..and I will, use them. Thank you sew much for sharing! <3

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Wonders of Antique Sewing Patterns | -- Topsy.com

  7. Julianna Doerres

    THis is clever. I love saving my older patterns as well, but there are a lot of patterns out there and this is a clever idea. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Denise

    No, sorry. I cannot like this.
    You say they aren’t ‘antique’ because they are in a thrift shop – but that could also be an unaware relative of a deceased seamstress that has dumped them there. I often find absolute treasures in thrift stores… beautiful, rare patterns that could actually be the last copy in existence… and to think that they could be cut up for craft and lost forever… such a waste.

  9. Mary Alice

    I’ve been sewing for 40 years and I think this is a great idea. Surprised I didn’t think of it myself. I’ve got a lot of old patterns myself – some will now go on wall of new sewing room
    and some will become gift wrap for sewing friend’s gifts! The only thing I would be concerned about is fire issue on what looked like a string of lights?

Leave a Reply

