Summery Florida Wedding



We’ve been waiting a long time to share this beautiful and bright Florida wedding with you all. Courtney and Lance knew from the start that they wanted a small gathering of their closest family and friends, and they picked some of the best vendors of Florida and beyond to make it happen. We were overjoyed to work on the details of her reception- the menus, lemon place cards, cookie favor tags, and signage was all done by Tie That Binds!

Of course, we can’t go without mentioning the fantastic photographer that is Leah from Leah Jean Photography. Her light and beautiful photographs captured the beauty of the wedding perfectly. And you may be wondering who styled the event- that would be Shauna from Petals Planning. She brought her unlimited ideas to the reception, which came together to be a sweet gathering of the couples’ closest friends and family.

Ceremony & Reception: The Armory Chapel, Boca Grande, Florida

Vendors:
Photography: Leah Jean Photography
Stationery and Signage Design: Tie That Binds
Event Stylist: Petals Planning
Baker: The Pastry Studio
Catering: Sarasota Catering Company

But who could describe the event better than the bride herself? See below for Courtney and Lance’s love story and wedding day recap.



Lance and I met through mutual friends, and after 3 years of building a friendship, we started dating. I always thought Lance was such a sweet person and always liked how laid back he was. I was a little too wild for him in the beginning and I thoroughly enjoyed the single life! When I realized it was time to settle myself down and grow up, I started to spend more time with him. Only then did I realize how special he was and the kind of man I had always wanted. He had been there the whole time! It was perfect timing and I was so blessed that we could build our relationship on a friendship first.

The proposal was so romantic! We went to Boca Grande in Florida for Valentine’s day in 2009. We had a nice dinner followed with an intimate walk, just the two of us. We walked the streets of the beautiful town and at the end of Banyan street, he got down on one knee and asked me to marry him! Of course I said yes, and a little more than a year later we got married in that very same spot he asked me.

From the start we knew we wanted our wedding to be beautiful, fun, and laid back. We also wanted it to be small, so we could share special time with each and every person in attendance. The ceremony was held right on Banyan street at The Amory Chapel next to the Boca Grande lighthouse. It is right on the beach alongside a quaint place for a small reception. It was absolutely beautiful.

The biggest challenge I had to overcome while planning our wedding was trying to lose the 85 pounds I gained while I was pregnant! I was a cute size zero when I got pregnant, but after the baby was born, I wasn’t a cute size zero anymore. Taking care of a newborn, working out, and planning a wedding is hard work, so I hired a wedding stylist. I couldn’t do it all and depended on Petals Planning so do the hard work for me. I lost 75 pounds on time for the wedding and have a happy 7 month old now.

The most memorable moment of our wedding day was walking down beautiful Banyan street with my dad. The trees covered the street in a canopy, and our small gathering of family and friends would be there to witness my best friend and I say our vows. Things couldn’t have been more perfect!

My favorite detail of the wedding was the reception. The beautiful the tables were all different and unique from each other. I have Petals Planning to thank for that!

If it wasn’t for Leah Jean Photography, the day wouldn’t have been as fabulous as it was! She came early and made sure everything was looking the way it should. She wanted my day to be perfect, and worked hard to make it that way. She went above and beyond her role as photographer. She is a true professional and a joy to work with! She made taking pictures so much fun, and everything felt so natural and easy. Not only did she capture beautiful formal wedding photos, but she also photographed the details that were so important to the look of our wedding. She is a wonderful all around!

Tie That Binds custom-designed the stationery and signage for the reception. It was all the exact vision of what I wanted. I needed the materials designed at the last possible second and her turnaround was super fast. She was also easy to communicate with, and was prompt to respond to my feedback, questions, and concerns. She even did some extra work, just to be nice! I am definitely working with her on our baby’s first birthday party! She is truly an artist that has great taste and I am proud to say she did work for my wedding!

The caterers from the Sarasota Catering Company were better than I could have dreamed of! Cari was so helpful and also went above and beyond what was expected of her. Everything they made was sooo good. There wasn’t one thing they made that wasn’t delicious! Especially the tenderloin- the guests couldn’t stop talking about how good it was.

The Pastry Studio in Daytona made my cake and cookie favors. Everything they made was so yummy! They looked amazing they tasted delicious as well. I can’t say enough about how awesome Sherri is. She gets to know the bride, listens to your preferences, and then comes up with a masterpiece that goes with your personality. She really saw the vision of our wedding. The Pastry Studio aren’t just bakers, they are artists!

What’s next for Lance and I is raising our little boy, Britton, and working on making our beautiful hundred year-old house into a home. And of course, adding more to the family :) Our life together is beautiful!

Leave a comment

Filed under Real Life Tie That Binds Weddings

Leave a Reply

